A month-to-month rental agreement, or “tenancy-at-will”, allows a landlord and tenant to enter into a binding short-term lease with either party being able to terminate with approximately thirty (30) days’ notice. The notice period must meet the minimum State law requirement and can also be longer if written in the agreement. To cancel, a lease termination letter must be sent to the other party.
Table of Contents
- Month-to-Month Rental Agreements: By State
- Month-to-Month Rental Agreements: By Type (6)
- What is a Month-to-Month Lease?
- How does a Month-to-Month Lease Work (5 steps)
- Termination Requirements
- Sample Month-to-Month Lease
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Download: Adobe PDF
A month-to-month lease is a type of tenancy that continues into perpetuity unless amended or terminated by either the landlord or tenant. To terminate, notice must be sent to the other party in accordance with the agreement or the State Required Time Period, whichever is longer. A month-to-month tenant has the same rights as a tenant renting in a Standard Residential Lease.
Increase Rent Notice – For a landlord to give notice to a month-to-month tenant that their rent will increase.
Termination Letter – For either the landlord or tenant to give the notice to terminate the lease.
A month-to-month lease continues without interruption and is canceled by the landlord or tenant. Both parties must adhere to the Required Notice Periods.
The first step may be the most difficult since tenancy-at-will arrangements are hard to come by. This short-term lease gives owners the freedom to remove the tenant at any time and allows the tenant to rent seasonally.
Best Websites for Month-to-Month Properties
The tenant will usually negotiate the rent from the asking price. It’s recommended for the landlord verify the tenant through a rental application. Some landlords are more willing to negotiate the rent if the tenant has stellar credit.
Once the tenant has been approved by the landlord it is time to sign an agreement. The tenant will be required to pay the first (1st) month’s rent and a security deposit (if any) at the time of signing. A month-to-month agreement should list the minimum termination required by either party for terminating (most commonly 30 days’ notice).
A month-to-month lease will continue until it is terminated. When the landlord or tenant decides to terminate they should complete a lease termination letter with the required minimum time period. It is highly recommended to send the letter by Certified Mail with a return receipt. A certified letter requires the signature of the recipient and acknowledges they have received the notice.
No matter who canceled the lease, the tenant will be required to move out within the given timeframe. After the tenant has vacated the property the landlord will check the property for any damages except wear and tear. The landlord will be required to send the security deposit to the tenant’s forwarding address.
Below is a table of the laws in all 50-States regarding the minimum notice periods required when terminating a month-to-month lease.
|State||Minimum Termination Period||Statutes|
|Alabama||30 days||§ 35-9A-441|
|Alaska||30 days||§ 34.03.290(b)|
|Arizona||30 days||§ 33-1375(B)|
|Arkansas||30 days||§ 18-17-704|
|California||30 days||CC 1946|
|Colorado||91 days for tenancies over a year; 28 days for tenancies over six months; 21 days for tenancies of one month; 3 days for a tenancy of one week; and 1 day for tenancies less than a week||C.R.S. § 13-40-107|
|Connecticut||3 days||§ 47a-23|
|Delaware||60 days||Title 25 § 5106|
|Florida||15 days||§ 83.57|
|Georgia||60-day notice from landlord; or 30-notice from tenant||§ 44-7-7|
|Hawaii||45-day notice from landlord; or 28-day notice from tenant||§ 521-71|
|Idaho||One (1) month||§ 55-208|
|Illinois||30 days||735 ILCS 5/9-207|
|Indiana||One (1) month||§ 32-31-1-1|
|Iowa||30 days||§ 562A.34|
|Kansas||30 days; except no more than 15 days if the tenant is necessitated by U.S. military orders||§ 58-2570|
|Kentucky||30 days||§ 383.695|
|Louisiana||10 days||Civil Code 2728|
|Maine||30 days||Title 14 § 6002|
|Maryland||60-day notice from landlord; or 30-notice from tenant||§ 8-402|
|Massachusetts||30 days||MA Gen L ch 186 § 12|
|Michigan||30 days||§ 554.134|
|Minnesota||30 days||§ 504B.135|
|Mississippi||30 days||§ 89-8-19|
|Missouri||30 days||§ 441.060|
|Montana||30 days||§ 70-24-441(2)|
|Nebraska||30 days||§ 76-1437(2)|
|Nevada||30 days||§ 40.251(1)(b)(1)(II)|
|New Hampshire||30 days||§ 540:3(II)|
|New Jersey||30 days||§ 2A:18-56(b)|
|New Mexico||30 days||§ 47-8-37(B)|
|New York||30 days||§ 232-b|
|North Carolina||7 days||§ 42-14|
|North Dakota||30 days||§ 47-16-07.2|
|Ohio||30 days||§ 5321.17|
|Oklahoma||30 days||§ 41-111|
|Oregon||30 days||§ 91.070|
|Pennsylvania||15 days for tenancies one year or less; 30 days for tenancies of more than one year||§ 250.501|
|Rhode Island||30 days||§ 34-18-37|
|South Carolina||30 days||§ 27-40-770|
|South Dakota||30-day notice from the landlord; 15 days from the tenant||§ 43-32-13|
|Tennessee||30 days||§ 66-28-512|
|Texas||30 days||§ 91.001|
|Utah||15 days||§ 78B-6-802|
|Vermont||60-day notice for tenancies 2 years and under; 90-day notice for tenancies of more than 2 years||§ 4467|
|Virginia||30 days||§ 55.1-1253(A)|
|Washington||20 days||§ 59.18.200|
|Washington D.C.||30 days||§ 42–3505.54(a)|
|West Virginia||30 days||§ 37-6-5|
|Wisconsin||28 days||§ 704.19|
|Wyoming||None; 30 days recommended||No Statute|
Download: Adobe PDF