Alabama lease agreements are used to create a binding lease contract between a landlord and a tenant. The contract ensures that the tenant will pay a monthly fee in exchange for access to a livable property. The document has full legal justification and can be used for leverage if either the tenant or landlord does not hold up their side of the agreement.
- Alabama Lease Agreements: By Type (6)
- Landlord-Tenant Laws
- Handbooks and Guides
- Commercial Lease Agreement
- Lease-to-Own Agreement
- Month-to-Month Lease Agreement
- Roommate Lease Agreement
- Standard Lease Agreement
- Sublease Agreement
Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Required to be attached and signed by the landlord and tenant if the structure of the property was constructed prior to 1978.
Owner/Manager Identification – All agreements must state the person in charge of maintaining the premises whether it be the landlord or someone instructed to act on their behalf (§ 35-9A-202).
Maximum Amount ($) – A landlord may charge no more than one (1) month’s rent to a tenant in a residential lease. The landlord may charge separate deposits for pets and other “increased liability risks” (Section 35-9A-201(a)).
Returning to Tenant– The landlord must return the security deposit within sixty (60) days to the tenant after the lease has terminated and the tenant has delivered possession Section 35-9A-201(b).
Rent is due on the date mentioned in the lease agreement. There is no grace period (Section 35-9A-161(c)).
7-Day Notice to Quit – If the tenant is late on rent the landlord can send the tenant a 7-day notice to quit which will terminate the lease unless rent is paid-in-full (Section 35-9A-421(b)).
The maximum a landlord may charge as much as desired for late rent. It is recommended whichever the penalty that it’s written in the lease agreement.
A landlord may charge up to $30 for any non-sufficient funds check paid by a tenant (Section 12-17-224).
If a tenant has abandoned their items in a residence, the landlord will be able to dispose of them within fourteen (14) days after the termination of the lease (Section 35-9A-423(d)).