Alaska lease agreements are contracts made between a landlord and tenant to lease a property for monthly rent. Both parties will agree prior to writing an agreement to the rent, utility responsibilities, pets, and any other items. The landlord will also require the landlord to submit their personal credentials and consent to a credit check to make sure they can afford the property.
- Alaska Lease Agreements: By Type (6)
- Landlord-Tenant Laws
- Handbooks and Guides
- Commercial Lease Agreement
- Lease-to-Own Agreement
- Month-to-Month Lease Agreement
- Roommate Lease Agreement
- Standard Lease Agreement
- Sublease Agreement
Absence – There must be language in the lease that is the tenant vacates the premises for a periof of more than seven (7) days then the landlord must be given notice (§ 34.03.150).
Identification – The lease must contain the name of the person that is authorized to manage the premises (§ 34.03.080).
Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Required to be attached and completed to a lease where the premises was constructed prior to January 1, 1978.
Withholding Security Deposit – If for any reason a security deposit may be withheld for a period of time after the lease has terminated it must be stated in writing (§ 34.03.070).
The landlord may charge a maximum of two (2) months’ rent as the security deposit to any tenant unless the monthly rent is more than $2,000, then there is no limit (§ 34.03.070(a)).
The landlord must return the security deposit to the last known address of the tenant within fourteen (14) days after lease termination and delivery of possession of the premises. If damages are found on the premises after vacating, the landlord has thirty (30) days to return the security deposit and must provide an itemized list of all deductions (§ 34.03.070(g)).
Rent is due at the time and place agreed upon in the rental agreement. There is no grace period (AS 34.03.020(c)).
7-Day Notice to Pay or Quit – The landlord has the right to give a seven (7) day notice to quit if rent is not paid on the due date. If not paid-in-full, the landlord has the right to terminate the lease and begin a forcible entry and detainer action (AS 34.03.220(b)).
Download: Adobe PDF
There is no maximum for how much a landlord can charge a tenant for late rent. Although, a court may only recognize its enforceability if it’s written in the lease agreement.
A landlord may charge up to $30 for any non-sufficient funds check paid by a tenant (AS 09.68.115(a)(2)).
If the tenant leaves personal possessions on the property after the lease has ended, the landlord must give the tenant at least fifteen (15) days’ notice of their intent to dispose or sell the items. This does not include perishable items such as food. If the tenant does not respond within the fifteen (15) day period, the possessions will be considered abandoned and the landlord may do as they wish with the items (AS 34.03.260).