Arkansas lease agreements create binding contracts that will govern a tenancy in a property owned by a landlord. Lease agreements will include the terms of the lease, including how much rent is owed each month, and what the landlord is obligated to provide. Lease agreements are a good way of preventing disputes between landlords and tenants, because they make matters clear at the outset.
- Arkansas Lease Agreements: By Type (6)
- Landlord-Tenant Laws
- Handbooks and Guides
- Commercial Lease Agreement
- Month-to-Month Lease Agreement
- Rent-to-Own Lease Agreement
- Roommate Lease Agreement
- Standard Lease Agreement
- Sublease Agreement
Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Under federal law, any dwelling erected before 1978 must come with a lead-based paint disclosure, about the risks posed by chipping lead-based paint.
A landlord may charge no more than two (2) times the monthly rent for a security deposit (§18-16-304).
A landlord must return the money provided as a security deposit to a tenant within sixty (60) days of the termination of a tenancy. However, a landlord may retain a portion of the security deposit to cover unpaid rent or damages to the premises that occurred during the tenant’s occupancy.
If the landlord does retain a portion of the security deposit, he or she must provide the tenant with written notice and an itemized list of deducted expenses, also within sixty (60) days. (§18-16-305).
Rent is due on the date mentioned in the lease agreement between the parties. Arkansas law does not specify whether a tenant is entitled to a grace period (§18-17-401).
5-day notice to pay or quit – This is the notice that a landlord can serve if a tenant fails to pay rent within five days of the due date (§18-17-901).
Download: Adobe PDF
Arkansas law does not set a maximum penalty for late rent, but fees for late rent must be reasonable and should be stated in the rental agreement (§ 18-17-401).
In Arkansas, a landlord may assess a fee of up to $25 for providing a check with insufficient funds to cover rent (§ 4-60-103).
In Arkansas, all property left behind after the termination of a lease, whether a voluntary or involuntary termination, is considered abandoned, and may be disposed of as the landlord sees fit. The landlord may also use property left on the premises to settle a tenant’s unpaid debts (§ 18-16-108).